Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page




Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Travel  Hop To Forums  Accommodations    Travel Websites
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Posted
I have a question and hope somene out there can help me out. I found a website which has amazing low prices on their travel packages, such as air & hotel together. I am rather nervous because this company isn't located in the U.S. How can I find out if they are really legitimate and not a scam? Can someone give me a clue? Thanks a bunch.
 
Posts: 3 | Location: Comstock Park, MI U.S. | Registered: 11-22-03Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of aminator2002
Posted Hide Post
give us the name of the website and I will take a look.
 
Posts: 3049 | Location: USA | Registered: 06-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of aminator2002
Posted Hide Post
scamwatch.com

Check out this site. You may find some information on your site there.

and a list of known scam sites
 
Posts: 3049 | Location: USA | Registered: 06-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
The website is all-hotels.com. They are located in Scotland and they do have phone numbers but that doesn't really mean anything.
 
Posts: 3 | Location: Comstock Park, MI U.S. | Registered: 11-22-03Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of aminator2002
Posted Hide Post
It certainly seems to me that this is a legitimate corporation. The "about us" link provides good information about the company which seems to indicate that it is a company similar to orbitz or travelocity in the British market. It is a professionally put together website and operates exactly like the other travel websites on the web. I checked some of the rates that I am most familiar with and they seem to be normal.

I also did a google search to see if any warnings came up with this website name and only got normal information.

I would recommend that if you still feel uneasy about using this site that you call the hotel directly and book your reservation. It is almost always cheaper to do it that way. You can even say "I saw this price on the web and would really prefer to pay direct"... that doesn't bother them since then they don't have to pay the internet company any percentage.

If the good price is due to a packaged airfare, I haven't found a way around that... but you could always call the hotel and ask them if they have a package deal of their own. Some hotel chains do offer that kind of deal and you could get them to match your price possibly.
 
Posts: 3049 | Location: USA | Registered: 06-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
I really appreciate your help and advice. I found terrific prices on their site for air & hotel combined so I have sent then 4 e-mails asking just general questions and no one has responded yet. That is what made me nervous about their honesty, integrity and everything else. Once again-thank you so much for your help.
 
Posts: 3 | Location: Comstock Park, MI U.S. | Registered: 11-22-03Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of Jenny Roberts
Posted Hide Post
In the UK , there is an association called ABTA ( association of British Travel Agents). It is recommended over here when booking a holiday, that we only used ABTA members. All of the big name companies are ABTA members.
If an ABTA member goes bankrupt after you have booked and paid for a holiday, you are guaranteed your money back. Likewise if you are actually away when they go bankrupt, you will get back ok.
all-hotels.com. does not appear to be an ABTA member. That doesn't mean they are not a safe company to deal with. They have a guestbook that you can view with personal comments from previous users.One thing that would bother me though, is that there have been no comments since February 2003. Why not?
 
Posts: 7945 | Location: Hyde.Cheshire. UK | Registered: 10-18-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of babthrower
Posted Hide Post
Maybe you would get better results using expedia.com, which has a flight-and-hotel option.
 
Posts: 6257 | Location: British Columbia, Canada | Registered: 06-11-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Travel  Hop To Forums  Accommodations    Travel Websites

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!