Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Internet    Fake "AOL" Site to avoid

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted
If you are an AOL user or planning to visit Aol DO NOT visit http://aol.net/ This is a Rip off site Frown
possibly Phishy? Mad
Correct address is www.aol.com
I urge all AOL users to email this address to Cosmail1 and get this taken down Smile
Also does anyone know if Google can block this Address? Roll Eyes

This message has been edited. Last edited by: bedstor,
 
Posts: 13481 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
I have sent this off to Google on their contact form (don't know if it'll do anything?)
It also queries some issues on Google pages Roll Eyes

quote:

To whom it may concern
I answer questions on Internet issues on several Forums and Also an AOL subscriber,
My query concerns the posting of an "AOL" typo URL on your search engine which leads to a semi authentic looking page but the Url Goes somewhere else despite being called AOL
The URL is http://AOL.Net the real address should be http://aol.com
Is it within your powers to block or remove this or even ask your legal people to check this out? before I and my coworkers on the forums start getting enquiries /complaints about this
BTW had "fun" the other week with that Google (typo) rip off URL (full of spam and other nasties) managed to avert a crisis by pinning "Heads ups" on Security Forums
That URL appeared on your index!
That is the one thing Google lacks a " report a suspicious/dangerous/unsafe URL" post link back directly to your security department? Instead of trolling through these contact links
The only one that was relevant to this query was "other"!
Perhaps this can be added in the near future?
Will help us to give guidance to questioners on forums as to a course of action should they raise an issue on this subject
 
Posts: 13481 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Internet    Fake "AOL" Site to avoid

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!