Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  E-mail Issues    What IS this?

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of cattywampus0
Posted
Recentlly I've been getting messages like this in my inbox:

stop sending spam
Return-Path:
Received: from mail-mx-00.tiscali.nl (195.241.79.165) by mail-9-nl.tiscali.it (7.3.116)
id 4507949F00F7D59D for kgmn@worldonline.nl; Sat, 7 Oct 2006 19:41:56 +0200
Received: from [212.61.9.30] (helo=mail1-new.vianetworks.nl)
by mail-mx-00.tiscali.nl with esmtp (Tiscali http://www.tiscali.nl)
id 1GWGBP-0000YC-Gs
for ; Sat, 07 Oct 2006 19:41:55 +0200
Received: from mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl (mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl [212.61.15.202])
by mail1-new.vianetworks.nl (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0D4C5DAF944
for ; Sat, 7 Oct 2006 19:41:41 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl (Postfix) with ESMTP id EA70C5CFAD
for ; Sat, 7 Oct 2006 19:51:46 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id 98703-02 for ;
Sat, 7 Oct 2006 19:51:46 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from vxmyhnl (unknown [88.229.229.10])
by mailhub1-new.vianetworks.nl (Postfix) with SMTP id 47CBB5CF93
for ; Sat, 7 Oct 2006 19:51:41 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from 88.229.35.134 ([88.229.35.134]) by vxmyhnl with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.0); Sat, 7 Oct 2006 20:49:02 +0300
Message-ID: <4527E6EB.7070201@pygmypress.com>
Date: Sat, 7 Oct 2006 20:42:03 +0300
From: Janet Mckinney
User-Agent: Thunderbird 1.5.0.7 (Windows/20060909)
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: mills@kgmn.com
Subject: trainer screen
Content-Type: multipart/related;
boundary="------------090509000607070302050704"
X-Antivirus: avast! (VPS 0640-5, 07.10.2006), Outbound message
X-Antivirus-Status: Clean

Pygmypress.com is MY domain. Is this person using my computer to send messages? How can I stop this?

Thanks for all help.
 
Posts: 572 | Location: Under the Volcano | Registered: 11-20-05Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
of the Year, 2006 & 2009

Picture of Dwight
Posted Hide Post
It is probably "spoofing" the domain name. But it might be a good idea to change your hosting password just in case...
Dwight
 
Posts: 4454 | Location: Anchorage, AK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of cattywampus0
Posted Hide Post
Thank you, Dwight.
 
Posts: 572 | Location: Under the Volcano | Registered: 11-20-05Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of cattywampus0
Posted Hide Post
I don't know what "spoofing" is.

Forgot to say, I thought I had hosted my domain name with godaddy, but they say they've never heard of me. How can I find out who my host is?

Thanks in advance.
 
Posts: 572 | Location: Under the Volcano | Registered: 11-20-05Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
of the Year, 2006 & 2009

Picture of Dwight
Posted Hide Post
"Spoofing" is tricking you into believing on thing, while something else is really the truth. The "from" might read:
john_jacob_astor.com
but the link actually goes to a different address.

They are trying to trick you into thinking the message is from one site, but in reality, it is from another.

One way you can find your Web host:
1. Open Google http://google.com
2. Type in: whois
3. Press Enter
4. In the results page, select one of the "Who Is" sites.
5. Type in your domain name to search for it.
6. Pay attention attention to how the site wants the extension (like .com or .org for instance) to be entered.

When the search is complete, you should see your doman. There should be a net server address. For example, my site is at:

Name Server: NS2.POWWEB.COM (this would be the primary)
Name Server: NS3.POWWEB.COM (this would be the secondary)


So in my case, the server is 'Powweb'. To find it I would then go to http://powweb.com

From there I could seek technical assistance if any is needed about protecting my domain name information (privacy protection, for example).
 
Posts: 4454 | Location: Anchorage, AK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of cattywampus0
Posted Hide Post
Thank you, Dwight, that is great info. I will do that. You're a prince.
 
Posts: 572 | Location: Under the Volcano | Registered: 11-20-05Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of cattywampus0
Posted Hide Post
OK, I have done that, and discovered that my host is yahoo! They have a lock/unlock feature that blocks such activity. I believe this is the end of the problem.

Thank you, Dwight.
 
Posts: 572 | Location: Under the Volcano | Registered: 11-20-05Reply With QuoteReport This Post
  Powered by Social Strata  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  E-mail Issues    What IS this?

© 2002-2010 AnswerPool.com
All Rights Reserved
Using This Site Means You Accept Its Terms of Service and Privacy Policy
Close Cover Before Striking
3D Glasses Required for Optimal Viewing
Now in HD and Surround Sound
Offer Void Where Prohibited by Law
There's a Bathroom on the Right
Caution - Objects May Be Closer Than They Appear
Anything You Post May Be Used Against You in the Court of Public Opinion
Notice: All Employees and Customers Are Required to Wash Their Hands and Feet Before Posting by the Board of Health
Hands and Feet MUST Be Kept Inside Vehicle at All Times



Visit DiscussionPool.com!