Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  News & Reference  Hop To Forums  General Reference    Card Member Services email?

Moderators: Koz
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Platinum
Enthusiast
Posted
I received this email today:

quote:


Dear SARAI R----,

The 2004 Year End Summary for your credit card ending in XXXX is now online and ready for review. Your Summary contains a comprehensive view of all transactions on your account during the previous calendar year.

To view your Year End Summary:
1. Log in to your account at www.cardmemberservices.com
2. Select view statements from the account actions menu and click "Go"
3. Click on "2004 Year End Summary" at the bottom of the page

If you have not signed up for online access, you can easily enroll by clicking 'Enroll' at the bottom of the login page.

Please do not reply to this message. For questions, please call Customer Service at (877) 999-3872. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Sincerely,

Carter Franke
Chief Marketing Officer
Cardmember Services



Where I put XXXX, there were 4 digits that are indeed the last 4 numbers on my credit card. Other than this, there is no reason for me to believe that this company is related in any way to my bank or to Visa. Is this email legit? If so, why didn't they identify themselves better? If not, how did they get the last 4 digits of my credit card? Should I be worried?
 
Posts: 2241 | Location: In between | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Site
Administrator
Picture of DorianGreyed
Posted Hide Post
Contact the bank that issued your card, using a number that you have known previously. Don't use any number that the e-mail gives. I am certain that they can give you better advice than any of us, and I am also certain that they will be interested in the situation.
 
Posts: 17502 | Location: Lincoln Place, Granite City, IL, USA | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Posted Hide Post
Although the number and name appear to be legitimate, the page you are redirected to is used in emails identified as phishing (i.e. emails illegitimately asking for personal information)

I would call or send an email to your credit card issuer, and if it is not Chase, First USA, or Bank one (which are all really the same company), I would notify them. (abuse@bankone.com)

Additionally (although I have to admit I did it), you should not click on any suspicious links. In addition to phishing schemes, such links may contain spyware, which can harvest information off your computer.
 
Posts: 5891 | Location: Indiana | Registered: 06-13-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Platinum
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
Thanks, guys. I will definitely call the issuer and see what is going on. Eek
 
Posts: 2241 | Location: In between | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Posted Hide Post
It seems very unlikely that a credit card company would conduct this kind of business online unless it was something that you requested. Let us know when you find out.
 
Posts: 6717 | Location: Land of Lincoln, USA | Registered: 07-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Platinum
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
Well, go figure. It was a legitimate email!
 
Posts: 2241 | Location: In between | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Platinum
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
I got the same or a similar email from one of my credit cards (FirstUSA). When I click the link it takes me to this site (curly braces added by me to prevent it from being a clickable link):

{https://online.firstusa.com/bolHome.aspx}

...where it asks you to sign in with username and password. The page looks identical to the one reached with a shortcut I keep on my desktop. And the "padlock" icon shows in the status bar, which I believe means it uses SSL encryption. So I don't see how it could be a spoof or phishing site. Wouldn't the latter have a more suspicious-looking URL or other tell-tales?
 
Posts: 2053 | Location: U.S. | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  News & Reference  Hop To Forums  General Reference    Card Member Services email?

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!