Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    I keep getting these e-mails. Are they a virus of some sort?

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of Leppi
Posted
I have been getting these blank e-mails a lot recently. Some from people I know, some from people I don't know. I kept deleting them at first and ignored them. a couple times i e-mailed the person who sent it to me and they said they never sent me the e-mail. A little while ago i started discussing this with someone else and that there may be a possibility it is a virus. I tried replying to both of the two e-mails I haven't deleted yet and i got an error message. ONe of those two e-mails is from a good freind of mine at the pool and she said she never sent it to me. I am pasting now the information from the e-mail.

From (that person at AP) Tue Dec 2 01:47:05 2003
X-Apparently-To: leppielisheva@yahoo.com via 216.136.226.225; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 01:47:12 -0800
Return-Path:
Received: from 194.73.73.92 (EHLO carbon.btinternet.com) (194.73.73.92) by mta108.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 01:47:11 -0800
Received: from host81-152-30-131.range81-152.btcentralplus.com ([81.152.30.131] helo=Wbvmzo) by carbon.btinternet.com with smtp (Exim 3.22 #25) id 1AR77Z-0006ci-00 for leppielisheva@yahoo.com; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 09:47:05 +0000
From: "(that person at AP) Add to Address Book
To: leppielisheva@yahoo.com
Subject: LOADING SMARTDRV
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=C2y0152E2c9B2do2DRV36
Message-Id:
Date: Tue, 02 Dec 2003 09:47:05 +0000
Content-Length: 62322

one wierd thing is though, the e-mail was blank. so how can the content length be 62322?

when I click reply this is what I get.

at the top where the web page should be it says cid:YhP78td4Z0N33

then it says

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for might have been removed or had its name changed.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Open the s: home page, and then look for links to the information you want.

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

If you still cannot open the page, click the Internet Explorer
Search button to look for similar sites.

Internet Explorer

the other e-mail i got was from someone I didn't know.

From btopenworldteam Tue Dec 2 12:15:37 2003
X-Apparently-To: leppielisheva@yahoo.com via 216.136.226.224; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 12:15:57 -0800
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 194.73.73.148
Return-Path:
Received: from 194.73.73.148 (EHLO zinc.btinternet.com) (194.73.73.148) by mta233.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 12:15:54 -0800
Received: from host81-152-30-78.range81-152.btcentralplus.com ([81.152.30.78] helo=Lja) by zinc.btinternet.com with smtp (Exim 3.22 #25) id 1ARGvp-0006v3-00 for leppielisheva@yahoo.com; Tue, 02 Dec 2003 20:15:37 +0000
From: "btopenworldteam" Add to Address Book
To: leppielisheva@yahoo.com
Subject: REBOOTING...
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=U9867l5e2CS1278Hk
Message-Id:
Date: Tue, 02 Dec 2003 20:15:37 +0000
Content-Length: 60480

this e-mail was also blank. when i hit the reply button i got the same thing as last time, but at the top by the web page it said instead cid:PZ3j9o05NC1J80CSfs


does anyone know what this means? If i get any more of those e-mails i'll post the information from then. Thank you so much.
 
Posts: 3144 | Location: looking for planet earth | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Enthusiast
of the Year



Picture of clarebear
Posted Hide Post
I have gotten 2 emails like this. One was from theanswerpool.com and the other was from mcn@gci.net.


Hello,This is a humour game
This game is my first work.
You're the first player.
I hope you would like it.

and the first one said:

This is a game
This game is my first work.
You're the first player.
I hope you would like it.


When I talked to Yafa in chat she said I sent her one. I didn't yet she got an email from me. I got the same email from someone else. I know I did not get the email from AP yet the email said I did. When I tried to send it to AP it said:

Reporting-MTA: dns; rly-xh03.mx.aol.com
Arrival-Date: Thu, 27 Nov 2003 13:22:02 -0500 (EST)

Final-Recipient: RFC822; theanswerpool@aol.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Remote-MTA: DNS; air-xh04.mail.aol.com
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 554 TRANSACTION FAILED - Unrepairable Virus
Detected. Your mail has not been sent.
Last-Attempt-Date: Thu, 27 Nov 2003 13:22:32 -0500 (EST)

I did a check and it wasn't a virus. Any ideas??
 
Posts: 5308 | Location: The Motor City | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of puppyblues
Posted Hide Post
Yafa, I've actually gotten these emails from you on two occasions. Others as well that said they never sent me anything. So I just don't open them anymore. It seems like as soon as I opened the first one, I started having some major issues with my computer. Mad
 
Posts: 9087 | Location: The land of OZZZZZZZ | Registered: 06-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Site Administrator
Picture of K.K.
Posted Hide Post
Those seem to be mime emails, probably lots of images or something, and clare there exists no address called "theanswerpool.com" at least not on this website and the site always sends it's emails from Admin@AnswerPool.com. My own emails are screened coming and going through two anti-virus programs. These infopop servers have anti-virus protection out the wazoo. We are using the same kind of servers that Sony IBM the Discovery channel and others use. AnswerPool.com is a little fish, but we are swimming in a first class aquarium. Smile

Yafa, I would install a virus protection program if I were you (or anyone) so that you can be sure these are not infected.

But everyone should remember, these guys passing virus' are not using their own email addresses. They catch one of these 'fifty names on the list' 'this is funny', or 'this will make you money' types of emails and use the rest of the names to send the virused mail to all of the other names on the list. The virus' usually are self replicating and attach themselves to your address book. And then when you aren't looking they go to work spamming all of your address book with virus emails. (I usually don't even open mail from those who have ever sent me one of these types of mail) And then it gets all of your contacts,business associates and friends and all of theirs and so on and so on...
 
Posts: 3857 | Location: Somewhere, out there... | Registered: 05-31-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of Tree
Posted Hide Post
Yep - lots of times when you get a virus infested email from someone you know... It's NOT from that person.

Keep your protection up to date and perform ALL updates!

Eek
 
Posts: 5152 | Location: Not of this planet | Registered: 06-16-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Enthusiast
of the Year



Picture of clarebear
Posted Hide Post
I'll keep that in mind.


And KK what are you trying to do ... scare the HELL out of me with that avatar! Eek
 
Posts: 5308 | Location: The Motor City | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of Leppi
Posted Hide Post
puppy, the one from that person at answerpool i was telling about was you. i tried scanning them with three different antivirus programs and they all said the e-mail was okay. is there anything i can do right now to stop myself from getting them in the future?
 
Posts: 3144 | Location: looking for planet earth | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    I keep getting these e-mails. Are they a virus of some sort?

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!