Every day, no less that 5 to 10 times a day, I recieve the klez virus in my inbox. Norton takes care of it for me, no problem. But, what I have noticed in the headers of the messages, the return path is always the same e-mail address. There are numerous e-mail addresses that have been used in the "from" field, but the return path remains constant. It is a bellsouth user, I think, because it is a bellsouth.com return path. I have tried reporting this at least 20 times with no real reply, only an auto response each time. I know I am protected, but it is getting annoying, and I wonder if this person is doing this on purpose. What is my next step? Thanks in advance for any tips.
Posts: 1866 | Location: MS gulf coast by debris pile | Registered: 06-05-02
You can inform Bell South with a list of their clients infected & they should handle it from there. Had that happen to a friend here in Toronto & they informed the ISP where these infected emails originated from & they took care of it....
I am so glad you posted this question, I have the same problem, Angela! The person who sends me the virus emails has an earthlink.net address, which is a free web-based email provider. The email address bounces when I send them mail directly, and I have trid emailing postmaster, virus and complaints@earthlink.net, but no joy.
Being in Ireland, we do not have free internet access and I pay for downloading mail by the minute. Even though I run no risk of infection, thse viruses cost me good money bcause to download thm takes time. So, any suggestions welcome!
If you are using Outlook Express, you can always put the offending address under 'block sender'.... you can find it under 'message' on your Outlook Express once you have it opened....
blocking the offender isn't going to do it. The same address shows up in the "return path" You can only block the "from" field. This person probably has 20 or so e-mail addresses. I am not sure how it works but it has something to ddo with disguising yourself, which leads me to believe that this is someone who is targeting people.
Posts: 1866 | Location: MS gulf coast by debris pile | Registered: 06-05-02