Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Lps

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Gold
Enthusiast
Posted
We keep getting an e-mail from Lps@-----. It has an attachment to be opened and it generally says "fotos" or "animales" or something similar. I am sure that it is a virus. I have put it on "block sender" many times and have even made a rule to deleted it from the server without downloading it but it still shows up every 2 or 3 days. I am afraid that someone will open it by mistake or out of curiosity. Any ideas or suggestions?

DD
 
Posts: 1033 | Location: The River | Registered: 07-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
Hi DD
You are right to not open it and "block" it.
But you say it is not getting blocked or diverted straight to Trash or deleted ?? Confused Very odd!
Tell us which mail service you are using and I'll try to help you out OK? Smile
Have you a virus scanner such as Avast or AVG which will scan this email for anything in that attachment?
 
Posts: 13644 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of Georgia85
Posted Hide Post
It could be that the reason it is not being blocked is because the address differs slightly on each e-mail. There are many spammers that alter address ever so slightly so that blocking one will not affect the others. I've encountered many where the name is the same but the domain is slightly different, adding a letter here or a space there.

If you are concerned that someone might accidently open these e-mails can you set up your mail account to only receive e-mails from people in your address book - even if for only a week or so? Hotmail has that option.
 
Posts: 9192 | Location: Atlanta, GA, USA | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Gold
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
We use Outlook Express and our server is guate.net.gt.

We do not have a virus scanner. I run a virus scan every so often but this doesn't come up.

Georgia, I expect you are right. I am sure that they have anticipated the blocking. The address always looks the same but there must be something different. I am getting only one listing for blocked e-mails for them so OE is not catching the difference.

Is it possible that "something" has disabled "blocked messages"?

DD
 
Posts: 1033 | Location: The River | Registered: 07-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of Georgia85
Posted Hide Post
I can't answer that one DD - a bit out of my area of expertise. But I am curious about something. The next time you get one of these emails from LP block it. Then when you look at your blocked list compare that address with the previous one you have blocked and see if there are any differences.
 
Posts: 9192 | Location: Atlanta, GA, USA | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
Adding to Georgias Idea If you block the entire address the little difference(s) are in the first part of the address
The 2nd Half of the address , the Domain name is better to Block try that? Not the full email address just the part after the "@"
If it still is getting displayed Frown Block the domain name contained at the top of the address Header this is difficult to alter. May be totally different to the address you are seeing?
It'll take you several goes to find it but it is there Wink
 
Posts: 13644 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Gold
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
I don't dare block the domain address (guate.net.gt). That is our domain and a lot of our mail that comes in uses it plus sometime I send emails to myself and they will be blocked.

The next time one comes in I will check properties to see if some other identifying information comes up.

Should I notify my Internet service provider? Maybe they can block it from there.

DD
 
Posts: 1033 | Location: The River | Registered: 07-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
DD
you can do no harm by Forwarding these on to The ISP They'll have a special email address which will be labelled either abuse@guate.net.gt or COS@guate.net.gt
The exact address will be somewhere in the FAQ
or EULA list for guate.net.gt
and They won't mind how often you send them Smile

This message has been edited. Last edited by: bedstor,
 
Posts: 13644 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Lps

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!