Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    A malicious file?

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Diamond Enthusiast

Posted
Anyone familiar with this? I just got it today:

FM: sgtmaj.wa@netzero.net

To whom it may concern:

Pls note that there is a possiblility that a file called jdbgrgm.exe in the c:\windows\ dir may be malicious. if you have any questions you may contact me at sgtmaj.wa@netzero.net

Catty (who is wary of these things) confused eek frown
 
Posts: 3826 | Location: Olympia, WA, USA | Registered: 06-04-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Gold Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
That is a hoax.... The file belongs in Windows and should NOT be removed.... Here is a previous post on it....
Jdbgmgr.exe
 
Posts: 536 | Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Gold Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
I've received this hoax myself several times, and after contacting my anti-virus company awhile back, found out what it was. Most, if not all, warnings like that are hoaxes anyway!

chris
 
Posts: 834 | Location: Wytheville, va. USA | Registered: 09-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of babthrower
Posted Hide Post
Actually this is a manual virus. It doesn't do anything itself, but if you obey its instructions, you damage your own system by deleting good files.

I almost fell for one like this myself! (Blush!!!) But a more computer-savvy friend warned me in time.
 
Posts: 6788 | Location: British Columbia, Canada | Registered: 06-11-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    A malicious file?

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!