Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Possible Bogus eBay E-Mail

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Site
Administrator
Picture of DorianGreyed
Posted
In my inbox today was the following:

Dear eBay User,

You have received this email because we have strong reasons to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

Per the User Agreement, Section 9, we may immediately issue a warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely suspend or terminate your membership and refuse to provide our services to you if we believe that your actions may cause financial loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate any information you
provide to us.

If your account information's are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

Please login into your account at this link, which is a SSL secured connection:
Bogus URL Removed

Regards,

Safeharbor Department
eBay, Inc.

While I do not intend to look into the matter further, I strongly suspect that this is an attempt at identity theft. I don't think that eBay would have such a grammatical error.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: DorianGreyed,
 
Posts: 17231 | Location: Lincoln Place, Granite City, IL, USA | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast

Picture of Mozart
Posted Hide Post
Although it looks legitimate, you have nothing to loose in waiting 72 hours and see if they will really cancel your account.Then if they do, you just create a new one. And if you don't get cancelled that would mean, you were right about your suspicions.
 
Posts: 6233 | Location: u.s.a, south Florida | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Enthusiast
of the Year



Picture of clarebear
Posted Hide Post
This is a mirrored email and is 100% bogus. I got burned by the exact email last year.

See here and here for ways to spot a fake email.
 
Posts: 5305 | Location: The Motor City | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
From Clarebears link
quote:
Think an email may be a spoof? Forward it to spoof@ebay.com or spoof@paypal.com.

Can't better that advice Smile
 
Posts: 13330 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Platinum
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
Hey! thats really good to know...Thanks mucho...
 
Posts: 2258 | Location: Naples, Florida, United States | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Platinum
Enthusiast
Picture of GarColga
Posted Hide Post
Never click a link to access your account at e-bay or paypal.
 
Posts: 1966 | Location: Boise, Idaho, USA | Registered: 06-03-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of Derek Taylor
Posted Hide Post
This scam, unfortuantely, is pretty common. Almost everyone has an Ebay account and a PayPal account. Anyone asking for information regarding your accounts is a scammer. Ebay, and PayPal as well, would never need to contact and ask "what is your username, password, etc..." because they ALREADY know that stuff. Plus, in the event of theft of your account I am about 110% sure they'd have a real person contact via a telephone.

Derek Taylor

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Derek Taylor,
 
Posts: 61 | Location: Louisiana, USA | Registered: 03-13-05Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond Enthusiast

Picture of bedstor
Posted Hide Post
Come to think of it AOL is also targeted by these though they show up as a sore thumb on the internal mail They will have both a blue icon and no @Aol.com address if they are "genuine" official mail
Fakes have a brown icon and an ****@aol.com " addy only other way is to use an AIM screenname but these are traceable
AOL expects you to phone them for info on accounts and answer a security question if needed.
I have only had 1 in recent months on the AOL internal Mail(used to be a dozen or more per week Mad) So at least AOLs Spam/security policy is working Cool
And if any of these arrive in your mail box forward them to cosmail1@aol.comor cosmail2@aol.com
We must keep reporting these regardless of how few or many we get even if it's companies/websites we never deal with Wink
Don't let a trojan turn your computer into a remote posting center for Spam
Leaving your account password logged in 24/7 was the way 1 of these got onto mine Frown And I got my account suspended for spreading 100 plus spammy mails in 2 sessions Mad
Now I have to Log in manually and I've had no trouble since
I had not got as much spyware protection and A/V programs as now, also I was on Dial-up (now running Broadband)
Worth investigating for peace of mind Wink
PS When I started on AOL (AOL 5) I'd have 20 or more spammy mails to delete per session before dealing with the legit mail Eek
These days (AOL 9) I get only 5 or 6 mails per day all Legit and the Spam folder may be 1, 2? mails tops Smile and that'll be possibly a misdirected posting to be moved into the main email box
 
Posts: 13330 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Possible Bogus eBay E-Mail

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!