WAYN - Where Are You Now Does anyone have any idea what this is? http://www.WhereAreYouNow.com/register.html I got an e-mail invitation saying my daughter wants me to join her. Went to the site but backed off when I saw the lengthy registration required. Got the same invitation from my other daughter but in an account I don't use to communicate with them. They don't have that address. Something sounds fishy - but my computer has no problems. Google just gives the address to the site. Any ideas? Anyone? Do I need to start warning people in my address book? Thank you ever so much. MKS
Posts: 268 | Location: Chicago, IL USA | Registered: 07-21-02
I read the agreement and it seems like a site just to gather personal information and share it with others who are members of the site. There is a basic membership for free and another one that costs that is non refundable.
quote:
This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of England and Wales.
It would be hard to know what the laws are about sites like this or where to go for recourse.
I agree it is a bit iffy not been featured in the UK Internet mags and I doubt it with a Registration form like that Ps The "allow Ads" option box is "ON" as default
I'll pass this onto the Uk computer Forum I post to, to give this site a swerve OK?
Posts: 13326 | Location: 6 miles west of Wigan UK | Registered: 06-05-02
Hi, thank you everyone for your input. I mainly wanted to know how bad this is going to get and what I have to do about the people in my address book. I have "paranoid " down pat. Seems to be a gene my daughters have not inherited. Address harvesting seems to be the purpose of the site - got my first ever phishing spam. Haven't noticed any other nastiness so far. Thanks again everyone - where would I go if Ap wasn't here.
Posts: 268 | Location: Chicago, IL USA | Registered: 07-21-02