Click here for AnswerPool.com Home page


Google

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Trojan horse via AIM

Moderators: Dwight
Go
Post
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Silver
Enthusiast
Picture of grumpybear
Posted
I just got whiff of a horse that you can get from AIM.. I was talking to a friend of mine and during the middle of the conversation it said "Yo! Check this cam I want" and had a link to a supposed picture of it.. Norton's scanned it and said it was a virus, and I thought it killed it. Well, it didn't, now it's sending it to whomever I talk to using AIM!! Please beware!!
 
Posts: 567 | Location: Care-a-lot | Registered: 04-05-03Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Diamond
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
of the Year

Picture of Dwight
Posted Hide Post
I suggest you do a complete system virus scan on your machine before going on the Internet again. You should manually run the live update before running the scan to be sure you've received the latest virus definition file.

Dwight
 
Posts: 4365 | Location: Anchorage, AK | Registered: 06-05-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
i don't know how you will find it, if the norton doesn't... but when you do find it, you can go to norton anti virus tools and quarantine and submit it to them, if they don't know of it they will figure it out, create a vacination for it. then you can delete it.

you can try search by text for anything on your C:drive contain "Yo!!" text, i know that i found my virus right on the first window when i went to my C:drive folder on the bottom it was called mybot.pid it had many others with it some with multiple.ext.ent.ions which is a bad sign and mine wouldn't delete... i found in the same spot the very next day... again... and again
BTW
hello dwight
didn't know you hosted
 
Posts: 52 | Location: ny,ny,us | Registered: 12-11-02Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Bronze
Enthusiast
Posted Hide Post
Here's another 'virus' going through AIM.... There's a link going around in people's profiles saying something along the lines of "Whoaaa, look what I found... click here."
Apparently if you click it, it takes you to a dirty site and installs that same link in your profile and it's really hard to get out of your profile. Half of the people on my buddy list have that link in their profile now because they didn't know that they shouldn't click it.
 
Posts: 300 | Location: united states | Registered: 09-14-03Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    AnswerPool.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Computers  Hop To Forums  Security Issues    Trojan horse via AIM

© 2002-2008 AnswerPool.com



Visit DiscussionPool.com!